STEFANO VELLA THE NEW PRESIDENT AND JOEP LANGE THE NEW PRESIDENT-ELECT OF THE INTERNATIONAL AIDS SOCIETY

ISSN: 0103-0465 DST – J bras Doenças Sex Transm 13(1): 45-46, 2001

Stefano Vella is the new President of the International Aids Society (IAS) and Joep Lange is the new President-elect elected: the appointments took place on 11th July during the XIII International Aids Conference on Aids together with the election of the new Governing Council membership. Mark A. Wainberg, former IAS President, is now Past President. Lars O. Kallings has been re-elected IAS Secretary-General.

Members from each of five geographic regions are asked to nominate five members every second or fourth year to serve terms of four years on the IAS Governing Council. Elections are held by ballot among members within each region to determine who these representatives will be. The President of the IAS is then elected from among the members of the Governing Council. These five regions are North America, Europe, Africa, Latin America/Caribbean, and Asia and the Pacific.

The new membership of the IAS Governing council includes, for the first time, members from India and China that further expands the panel of members from countries mostly affected by HIV/Aids. This testifies the IAS global worldwide approach to HIV/Aids: with its more than 10,000 members the IAS is among the few societies that can develop national driven agendas almost in all the countries.

IAS Governing Council Election 2000

President

Stefano Vella, MD

National HIV Aids Clinical Research Program, Istituto Superiore di Sanita', Rome, Italy.

President-elect

Joep Lange, MD

NATEC Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Region 1 (USA/Canada)

Helene D Gayle, MD, MPH

Director for the National Center for HIV, STD, and TB Prevention (NCHSTP), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

Scott Hammer, MD

Professor of Medicine, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons and Chief of the Division of Infectious Diseases, Columbia Presbyterian Medical Center, New York, USA.

Region 2 (Europe)

Gunnel Biberfeld, MD, PhD

Professor of Clinical Immunology, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm and Head of the Department of Immunology, Swedish Institute for Infectious Disease Control.

Jap Goudsmit, MD, PhD

Chairman of the Institute of Infectious Diseases, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands.

Ian V D Weller, BSc, MD, FRCP

Head of the Department of Sexually Transmitted Diseases, Royal Free and University College Medical School, University College London (UCL), UK.

Region 3 (Africa)

Hoosen M Coovadia, MD, MB, BS, FCP, MSc
Professor at the Department of Paediatrics & Child Health,
Faculty of Medicine, University of Natal, Congella, KwaZulu Natal, South Africa.

Elly T Katabira, FRCP

Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Medicine, Makerere University, Kampala, Uganda.

Fred Mhalu, MD

Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Muhimbili College of Health Sciences, University of Dar es Salaam

Alan Whiteside

Associate Professor Economic Research Unit, University of Natal, Durban, South Africa.

Region 4 (Latin America/Caribbean)

Pedro Cahn, MD, PhD D

Professor of Infectious Diseases at BAUMS, Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Gloria Echeverria De Perez, MD, MSc

Chief of the Retroviral Infection Program, Institute of Immunology, Faculty of Medicine, Caracas, Venezuela.

Luis E. Soto-Ramirez, MD

Profesor of Infectious Diseases, Universidad La Salle, Mexico City, Mexico.

Region 5 (East Asia/Oceania)

Yunzhen Cao, MD

Director, Clinical Virology Laboratory, Chinese Academy of Preventive Medicine, China.

Roy K W Chan, MBBS, MRCP, FRCP, FAMS

Consultant-in-charge of the Department of STD Control, Singapore.

John Kaldor, MD

Professor at the National Centre in HIV Epidemiology and Clinical Research, Sydney, Australia.

Chaiyos Kunanusont, MD

Director of the Aids Division, Department of CDC, Ministry of Public Health, Thailand.

N M Samuel, PhD, MSc

Professor at the Department of Experimental Medicine/SMIC, Tamilnadu, India.